Postmortem

I’ve been thinking about why some diagnoses make sense for me and others do not.  I’ve done mental lists before but I think it’s past time I did a postmortem analysis of my breastfeeding experience. Not that it’s dead just yet…

My midwives told me that it was my supply. So I pumped and I pumped, and I fed and I took herbs and domperidone… and it didn’t really seem to help. For a long time I thought baby not getting enough milk to gain weight or poop, and I can’t pump it out means it’s not there, right? Not necessarily. When my daughter was around 8 months I noticed a lip tie and read about the correlation between that and posterior tongue tie. So then I thought that was the issue, but I can make some points in favour of several causes.

I’m not sure the best way to group this. Maybe a reason for, reason against section for each suspected issue.

Symptoms in support of IGT:

I have breast asymmetry. It’s fairly noticeable. I also have stretch marks, though I’d assumed they came from puberty. I actually remember the time when my left breast grew bigger than my right. I was probably about 12-13 (I was in junior high because the memory includes wandering around that day in the halls with my hand clamped over one breast because it hurt so badly). I just remember it being painful.  My breasts look a lot like one of the pictures in the MMM book.

I don’t think that I had engorgement after birth. I did have a bit of warmth and itchiness, but not the hard breasts my midwives led me to believe I should have. Which is false anyhow, not all women have that symptom even with a normal supply.

Symptoms against IGT:

My breasts have always felt fairly glandy. If that’s a word. They aren’t very soft, instead tending to be firm. I’ve noticed them floating in the pool for the first time since I’ve had my baby.  I’ve never really gained weight in my breasts and they don’t seem to be primarily fatty tissue. As I said, glandy. I was always good about getting my yearly exams when I lived in the US (things are 3 yearly here if everything’s been normal, which it has for me), and that usually included a breast exam. You’d think someone (one of the at least 5-6 different doctors I’d had do breast exams) would have said something if there were not much tissue there… Then again, maybe not.

I tended to leak. I mean, not buckets, but changing my baby in the middle of the night, her crying would give me a wet shirt. Easily 5ml from one side and maybe 2 from the other. Also sometimes when I was feeding the other side would leak. Not enough to collect, or really  need pads, but enough to be messy.

This is a bit odd. I have some extra nipple tissue on one of my areola. So, while my breasts were not really engorged, that area swelled up like a blister. It got about peanut-in-the-shell sized.  I could get milk out of it, but it wasn’t easy. Apparently it was connected to some ducts as well.

When I was in the hospital after giving birth I had to hand express some colostrum. My baby would not initially latch well, she couldn’t open her mouth wide enough and when I tried biological nurturing style she shredded my nipples and gave me hickeys, preferring to latch onto any surface she could like a little suckerfish. Anyhow, as I was hand expressing colostrum the hospital midwives commented that at least my supply wasn’t a problem.  I know that colostrum production and milk production are not necessarily related (that is amount of colostrum does not indicate amount of milk), but it’s always made me doubt that supply was my problem, even when I was told it was.

While I don’t think my breasts did grow much during pregnancy and after, I know they did because bras from before pregnancy (still) don’t fit me. Also I had significant nipple pain during the first trimester.

I have had engorgement before to the point that one (just one, the other one has more fat on it I think) breast looked like a sack of peas. I went 15 hours without feeding or pumping when I had to travel for business. I had been accustomed to going 10-12 hours without pumping at that stage (my daughter was 11-12 months old), but the extra few hours made a big difference in comfort.

Symptoms for undiagnosed tongue tie

My baby has a lip tie for sure. She also was not able to hold herself on the breast until she could do it with her hands at over 6 months old. So I had to hold it in her mouth or it would fall out. Pacifiers (dummies) fell out of her mouth.  Even now she either holds them in with her teeth or her hand. Not that she’s much of a fan, they are more something to bite. She would leak milk when drinking from a bottle. She shredded my nipples early on. It wasn’t until 8-10 weeks that I didn’t look like ground meat from the cracking, and all the missing bits grew back. With some improvement in latch technique it didn’t hurt much after about 2-3 weeks. I did have nipple creasing for months. Since she got her upper front teeth I’ve felt them digging in to me somewhat, and she does leave little tooth indentations on me.

Her tongue has been forked in the past. As she gets larger and stretches it the fork has significantly lessened. For a while she was not able to touch her upper lip, but now she can. Nowhere near touching her nose, but she can now get the tip of her tongue over her upper lip.

She does have a ‘fence’ in her mouth per the Murphy manuever, though I can’t use Dr. Kotlow’s method of checking since it’s now a game to bite me when I try to feel what her tongue is up to.

When she touches her tongue to her upper lip the floor of her mouth tents up (as does mine…), and the sublingual salivary glands stick out (again, as do mine).

She has only rarely drained the breast, though that’s hard to gauge because my breasts don’t ever really seem to go totally soft because of the glandiness.

Symptoms against undiagnosed tongue tie

She has a pretty mobile tongue. I don’t see much inhibited movement to be honest, though I’m mainly comparing to myself, which is not a fair comparison, and she has been working on it as I try to gauge her tongue mobility by making faces at her. Perhaps it’s improved as she’s gotten bigger. She doesn’t have much in the way of frenulum either, though I know with PTT that can be the case.

Symptoms for PCOS related complcations

I suspect my grandmother had some form of PCOS. She told me she got her period at age 10. I got mine at 11. I have elevated androgen levels and issues with carbohydrates and my weight. If I do have some form of PCOS the onset was when I was around 20. One lactation consultant told me my issue was probably PCOS related (no breast exam for me, no oral exam for the baby though).

Symptoms against PCOS related complications

I have completely regular periods (I’ve been irregular twice I can think of and once was after a miscarriage). A lot of doctors have hinted at PCOS, but no one has ever felt able to make a diagnosis. While I do experience mittelschmerz, no cysting has ever been observed during ultrasounds.

Other ‘what does it mean?’ issues:

I was living in an agricultural area before and during puberty. I had also been consuming large volumes of soy products (dairy free from 8 to 13, then dairy and soy free) and been put on various calorie restrictive diets by my family from age 8 including a diet from age 13 to 17 that did not allow me to eat sugar, wheat, dairy, soy (as I had developed an allergy), any fruit other than grapefruit and lemon. I also experimented with veganism during this time (though that didn’t last long). I skipped a lot of meals, not eating for up to 12 hours at a time (sometimes longer) until I was in my early 20’s.

Fenugreek did not work for me. I couldn’t take enough to get the ‘smell’ and I didn’t see any difference with the amount I was taking (up to 12 pills daily. I also tried spoonfuls of soaked seeds as well as fenugreek seeds cooked with barley and tea made from a spoonful of seeds). Domperidone seemed to decrease my supply, or at least my let down. Blessed thistle made it so I did not have to supplement at night times and fennel and oatmeal were some of the more helpful things I tried. Anise seed, licorice root, red clover and nettle were also helpful. Vitex increased my supply, though I didn’t try it until after 12 months.

I’ve been lucky enough to have a fairly robust, if apparently insufficient,  milk supply. Since pumping at work and altering my pumping schedule until I no longer pumped I noticed that it would take at least a week to stop feeling discomfort from a missed pumping session. I only ever pumped 30-50ml per session combined. I expect the 18 hour per day feedings and excess pumping in the first 6 weeks helped me lay down adequate prolactin receptors so that my supply remained robust.

Prior to getting pregnant I had been having 9-11 day luteal phases with spotting before my period started, which can indicate a hormonal issue. However, this was for the months in between a miscarriage and getting pregnant with my daughter. I had not previously experienced much spotting before starting my period. I do expect that a 10 day luteal phase is more or less normal for me though.

I didn’t get my period back until nearly 16 months postpartum, and only after much cutting down on breastfeeding. I make the supposition that the inefficient sucking, as well as the numerous night time feeds,  delayed it’s return because sucking stimulation releases the oxytocin which inhibits menstruation.

Oh, then there were the array of potential medical issues. I lost 600ml of blood, which is within normal for a C-section, but if I recall correctly over 500ml can cause issues in some people. I had an emergency c-section. I was overhydrated both before and after birth because of my blood pressure being so low (to the point of breast edema, though it didn’t delay my milk, which came in, such as it was, on day 3). I had low platelets. Not dangerously low, but enough to be mildly alarming. I had been taking iron pills in my second and third trimester, but had run out early in my third trimester and my midwives didn’t think to give me more. So I could have been anemic.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

