The great tongue tie caper


Or how I feel like I stumbled into a cult.

I mentioned my second child having a tongue tie previously. Well after the snip with the scissors I was still having pinchy latch feelings  as well as latch slipping and I knew the lip tie was still around. After wondering about long term management of my not entirely tongue tie related low supply problems on the MOBI message group I was prompted to revisit my research  into laser release.  I emailed them and asked if I could send along some pictures and see if they saw any problems.  They did. So in a whirlwind I made an appointment to see them, booked flights and planned a 12 hour day in Auckland with a 3.5 week old.

We flew up there, I found where the place was and I proceeded to hang out. This baby is incredibly laid back and sleepy, so armed with a baby carrier there was no problem.

Here is the lovely park we spent far too many hours at.

 

I’m glad it was a nice day.

Anyhow, the Laser procedure was fairly straightforward. The Doctor/dentist was nice, his staff was nice as well. The whole thing was very posh. Posh is a good word. It was really over the top for me. I felt a bit grubby in my jeans and sweatshirt next to the fleet of designer suited office assistants in an obviously expensive office block. The procedure was also quite expensive. But I rationalized it by thinking it’s about the same amount some people spend on a designer stroller or a smartphone, and this is more beneficial. Well at least I hope so. I still feel several weeks after the procedure that the whole thing is a bit faddish and people’s behaviour is a bit cultish as well. Oh, no doubt my child had a tongue tie and a lip tie. And no doubt many people who also have tongue and lip tied children have much more severe symptoms than we did. The ties didn’t hurt me that much, though they were a bit uncomfortable. I didn’t have anyone doing test weights so how much they helped milk transfer is debatable. It certainly didn’t fix everything. But I still feel vaguely taken advantage of.  Preyed upon even. Us poor women with breastfeeding problems doing everything we can to make it work. Not necessarily by that doctor, but in general. My midwife is a bit displeased I went ahead and did the laser. She thinks I’ve been taken in by a fad. And maybe I have been. We plan one more child and right now I can’t say definitively that I would do the laser again. Or if I’d have it done for my older child. I know for some people the result is unquestionable, but for us, not so much.

There’s a huge hole in terms of what most professionals will or can treat and it’s being filled somewhat by self diagnoses and things that are expensive with dubious benefit. And I’m finding the associated peer support a bit questionable as well with certain things that must be done and it’s sort of like if you aren’t doing the whole laundry list then you have only yourself to blame when things don’t work out. I’ve found myself at odds with others in this situation before. I do draw a line as to how far I am willing to go and for some that makes me less dedicated, but I also go further than many others do and for some that makes me a tad bit crazy.

Anyhow. Here are the before and after pictures of the tongue and lip ties.

Lip tie

Tongue before scissors

Tongue after scissors

A few days after lasering

Lip tie

Tongue

A week after lasering

 

 

Comments are closed.
