A fate worse than death

Sometimes I feel like not being able to breastfeed is viewed that way. Losing milk supply is a major worry for breastfeeding mothers. It rubs me a bit the wrong way when people who have successfully breastfed children so far start taking supplements and munching lactation cookies when their breasts don’t feel as full. Especially those whose babies are gaining well above the 140-210g/week.  Seriously makes me wince and/or want to pull my hair out.

Meanwhile all along I’ve been drinking teas, eating a lactation friendly diet, popping pills and pumping quietly. Quietly because when you are open about your lactation insufficiency people don’t know where to look. It’s something people openly say they fear and worry about but when it happens no one is sure what to say. Is sympathy the right response? Is telling people that it doesn’t matter if they breastfeed or not appropriate? Not really to either of them. Simple sympathy- I’m sorry- is probably the safest. Lately I feel that it’s almost more acceptable to talk about death than persevering through lactational insufficiency. It just makes people feel awkward. Some of them want to tell you you are wrong, others it scares.

But when people with normal supplies ask about how to help their milk supplies I grit my teeth and give them tips.  If no one else has given advise first. I admit I drag my feet. I mean I think I understand. I have to meticulously track volume and my child’s weight and I worry when top-up volume is dropped. But when you are fully breastfeeding you don’t have any type of gauge other than output, and intermittent weigh ins, which may not be all that satisfying. So hard breasts means there is plenty of milk there for the taking and is thus a comfort factor. I must be unusual in that I initially trusted my baby and my body to do what was correct despite evidence to the contrary. Over-education isn’t all great.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

