Cooking with Milks

Another consequence of my second child being such a fuss butt was that when I went back to work she refused a bottle. I feel like a meme belongs here.


Anyhow, in two children I’ve learned to use up my milk. It was hard to come by, be damned if I’m going to tip it down the drain.

Milk jello.
This sounds so grody, but it’s a reasonable option. I tried it first with formula, but it will work well with expressed milk too. A half and half mix with powdered or concentrated formula will likely work best for technical reasons.
Add gelatin to boiling water and dissolve. This is the technical reason I mentioned. Gelatin dissolves a lot slower in milk than water. So you could boil your breast milk and dissolve gelatin into it. But it will take longer. Add appropriate amount of formula for the amount of water the gelatin is dissolved in. Add your milk. Pour into containers and allow to set. I found 14g (1/2oz) ad 200ml far too firm. My baby could pick it up but couldn’t really suck bits off. I doubled it (you can melt it back down in a double boiler set up. If you don’t have a double boiler a frying pan with water and a pot in that will work just fine) and it was still a bit too firm. Follow the directions on the package. Use within 3 days.

Milk custard.
One version requires your child able to have eggs so after solids are more established perhaps. You can omit the egg and make the custard more of a roux instead though if you do that I would definitely make it in a pan stove-top.
The smallest amount is about 100ml of milk, 1 egg yolk and 2 tsp of corn flour or corn starch(I wonder if you could use tapioca/arrowroot or other flour for this instead). You can even do this in the microwave. Mix ingredients and whisk. Heat for 1 minute in your microwave and whisk again. heat for 30 seconds and whisk again. Repeat until it starts looking thicker around the edges. It should be setting up by this point. If doing in a pan just heat and whisk until setting up. Cool and serve or put into containers to set. To double it use 200ml milk 1 egg yolk and 2-3tsp flour. After that you will need another egg. Also more flour. Feel free to add extras-fruit, sugar etc. This was intended to get fluids into my non-drinking kid so I started out with basics. Keeps for 2 days.

Muffins
This is what I did with all my lipasey milk from my first child. She wouldn’t drink it so I baked with it.  I also made some jewelry…

Anyhow.
1/2 cup flour, 1 small egg, 1/2 cup milk, 1tsp baking powder, 1 tbl oil and whatever fruit, spices and extras you want to put in there. This recipe doubles as a pancake recipe. Our favourites were apples and cinnamon, pumpkin, lemon zest, berries etc. Keeps for up to a week and can also be frozen.

Human milk proteins, carbohydrates and fats are still good, so if you need to use up some old or slightly off milk cook with it. I use these techniques on milk that for example is lipasey, has not been drunk all day at daycare etc.

We also found soaking some bread in the milk worked well. Pretty much the cereal principle, but for the Baby Led Weaning self-fed child.

After 3 weeks of fussing, losing weight and playing around we found a sippy cup (just a cheapo plain one) that she would take that made daycare happy. But I’m still pumping milk and occasionally need to use some of it for non-drinking activities.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

